New Image: Wood Cranes-bill

©jmillerphoto.com - Wood Cranes-bill

Another new image into the recently created Flowers gallery.  This is an image of a pair of recently bloomed Wood Cranes-bill (Geranium sylvaticum) blossoms, captured in Skaftafell National Park in southern Iceland.

The trip that this image was made on may have been my longest yet most fruitful day of shooting in all of the time that I was in Iceland.  No fewer that 4 images from that trip are images that adorn my walls (and I only have about 18 or so in total throughout the whole house from everywhere I’ve ever shot).

This was shot near midday after I had just gotten finished with Svartifoss (which was the reason for my trip and sadly was the least pleasing of all of the images I made).  There were many of these flowers about, but I thought the interplay between the the top one who’s internal structures had spread out and the lower one that were tightly massed was good contrast.  It also tells great things about my Canon EF 50mm f2.5 macro lens.  Certainly the bottom of the barrel of Canon’s macro offering, in this case it turned out to be the perfect tool.

As with all of my images, this one is available in sizes up to 11×14.

~ by Jim Miller on Friday, 26 February 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
