Back in the saddle, but the horse is still tied up…

I returned last night from a far too short trip back to Texas.  As is the norm on my last couple of trips back, it was far more about Hunnadews at our house in San Angelo than about making images or seeing old friends.

I did get about an hour of shooting in at the bird blind at San Angelo State Park on the last full day that I was in town, but the light was horrible.  I will blog about that over at Texas Photo Blinds in the next couple of days as I have a number of other things to say about that particular shooting opportunity.

But with the primary tasks for the trip accomplished (newly sodded lawn in the back yard, visits with school administrators, and a couple small home repairs), I have now returned to school and my reasonably empty apartment.  This academic term has every indication that it will be highly entertaining with three intense classes.  The upside is that it will be the last quarter in which classroom work dominates my landscape.  The downside is that it will be the last quarter in which I can justify to myself that my classroom work is done and I can step out of the apartment for a couple of hours to make some images.  I will have to find another bit of justification after this point…

The good news is that the 10 days or so that I was gone has done wonders to the landscape around me and it appears that if spring is not all ready here, it is just a few steps away.  I will make it a priority to get out at least once every couple of weeks to make some images, if only to maintain my sanity this quarter.  And thankfully there is much to make images of to include some places that I scouted during the fall and early winter.

Also on the agenda is getting older images from the library out to the site for sale.  That endeavor continues with a couple of prospects ready to go out for test prints early next week.

Good things happening…just slowly…

~ by Jim Miller on Sunday, 28 March 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
