Eyjafjallajökull Eruption Update

©jmillerphoto.com - Hraunfossar

Both Iceland Review and the Volcanism Blog continue to do an outstanding job of keeping the world up to date with the goings on of the eruption near Eyjafjallajökull, though it is also being referred to as the Fimmvörðuháls eruption (loosely translated: Five Cairn Neck, referring to the mountain pass in which a popular hiking trail follows.) Of particular note is that the lava flow has created a 200 meter (650 foot) high lava fall.  There is a waterfall in the west of the country called Hraunfossar which more or less means lava falls.  But that waterfall refers to the fact that the water is flowing through old lava as opposed to the lava doing the deed, not to mention that Hraunfossar is about 10-15 meters high but very wide.

Also of note from both of these sources is that the eruption has turned into a tourist attraction, both hiking and via snowmobiles over the glacier.  However, even if I had the time you would not see me flocking to the site of a volcanic eruption.  At this point the eruption is small and somewhat controlled.  But it would just be my luck that all hell would break loose just about to the point where I could make an image.  I put this in the same category as how I like to make images of rattlesnakes:  800mm lens with a 2x teleconverter and a 50 foot shutter release cable…

~ by Jim Miller on Sunday, 28 March 2010.

2 Responses to “Eyjafjallajökull Eruption Update”

  1. Would you be able to tell me where the eruption and lava flow is in relation to the hiking trail that follows the river up from Skogafoss. My husband and I hiked this trail in June 09 as far as where the trail crosses the river and continues on to some hut. It would be great to see how close we got to the point of the recent volcanic activity.

    • Hi Jane –

      The short answer is that I am not sure. This is what I can discern… According to my copy of The Visitor’s Key to Iceland (8th Edition – 2003), there are two huts very close to Fimmvörðuháls. I loaded my 2003 Atlaskort CD-ROM from the National Land Survey of Iceland, and on the 1:100 000 topographical map I see what I think is the path that you are talking about where it crosses the river and goes up another 300m of elevation to a place marked skáli. Google translates skáli to being a pavilion. Google translates hut as being skála, so my guess is this is the older of the huts mentioned in the Visitor’s Key. When I plug in the so-called safe places as published by Iceland Review on 01 April, these spots are well north of the hut. If I had to guess, I would say you were probably 60-65% of the way to where the volcanic activity is taking place as measured from Skógar.

Leave a Reply

 
