April Month in Review

©jmillerphoto.com - Blue Dasher Dragonfly

I’d like to say that the month of April was a productive month.  But I would be lying if I said that, so I won’t.  This academic quarter has been more caustic than I had hoped, leading to nearly zero photographic efforts for the month.  John Lennon said “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans,” and he was dead on accurate with that.

Of course the big news of the month was the eruption at Eyjafjallajökull and the havoc that this caused both in Iceland and throughout Europe as airplanes stopped and life got crazy for my Icelandic friends.  Things seem to be returning somewhat back to normal in the Land of Fire and Ice.  Of most interest to the tourism business is that the Ring Road (Road 1) is back in service.  The flooding from the eruption took out chunks of road just west of Seljalandsfoss, but Iceland Review reports that temporary repairs have been made and summer tourists should have no major issues completing the ring as long as Eyjafjallajökull does not open up again somewhere else or doesn’t change the flow of it’s lava.  They also report that many of the restrictions in the area have been removed, though you still may not go up to the mountain and a good deal of the roads in the Þórsmörk area have washed away.  I continue to watch the situation with great interest.

On the photographic front, one of my images will be published in the next couple of weeks as the cover of a regional magazine.  A publication in the Texas Hill Country has requested to use one of my dragonfly images and I was happy to oblige.  This will be my first cover image for a publication and I am very honored and humbled to have this opportunity.  When the image is published, I will share the good news here.

The next few weeks look kind of nasty for trying to do anything photographic.  This weekend in particular has been pretty low-key, but the weather in Ohio’s Miami Valley has not been very cooperative.  Much rain with not many breaks in the action.  If you saw the Kentucky Derby, then when I tell you that my current home away from home is only 2 hours northeast of Churchill Downs you will understand the weather that I’ve had this weekend has been very wet.  I’m hoping that next weekend I can sneak away for a few hours and make some images before the academic quarter starts to wind down and final projects become due.

June, however, is looking very good as I will have an almost three week break between classes.  Most of this time will be spent working on my thesis, but I will be taking some sanity breaks during this time frame and those sanity breaks will include some time behind the camera.

And maybe, just maybe, in the next few weeks I can continue to comb through my library of images and make more of them available online.  Stay tuned.

Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans
~ by Jim Miller on Sunday, 2 May 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
