Photo Shoot Report: July 5th @ Spring Valley

Male Widow Skimmer Dragonfly (Libellula luctuosa)

© jmillerphoto.com - Widow Skimmer Dragonfly (Libellula luctuosa) - Male

The long holiday weekend afforded me a little bit of free time which I gladly spent again at Spring Valley Wildlife Area.  I managed to achieve the early start that had escaped me earlier in the weekend and got there around 7:30AM.  There is a trail along the west side of the lake which I had not explored as much as I wanted to, so while it was still relatively cool I took the chance to do so.  As it turned out, there was not much to be found further down the trail, but at least I could resolve my curiosity on the subject by saying I’d been there.

Plenty of dragons to be found, though the damsels were not nearly as prolific as they were on my Saturday walk.  But the walk did provide me with a good butterfly image or two, to include a species that I did not have a picture of.  Thankfully the butterfly was very cooperative and I made what I think was a very good image of it.  You should be seeing that image in future posts.

As I walked back to the vehicle, the cool early morning was turning into a blast furnace of a mid-morning.  By the time I made it back to the parking area I was very glad that I had filled the thermos full of iced tea so I could rehydrate and hit the trails a little longer.

When I did make it back out there, I noticed that the Widow Skimmers (Libellula luctuosa) were out in full force.  I had spotted my first one on my Saturday walk, but I couldn’t get a pleasing angle on one before I ran out of frames.  This time I had plenty of ammo left and made some images that I was very happy with.  One is posted here, but also expect more the pop up in the weeks to come.

By the time 11am rolled around, there wasn’t enough cold iced tea to keep me out and about in the heat and humidity, so I packed it up, headed back to the vehicle, and rolled back to the oversized dorm room.

The highlights of the day included the Widow Skimmers, my first view of a Halloween Pennant dragonfly (though I did not make a very good image…maybe next time), and a few Ebony Jewelwing Damselflies with at least a couple shots of a female Jewelwing that I expect to be hanging on a wall very soon.

Another 500+ image day with probably a half dozen keepers in the set.  A very good morning of shooting.

~ by Jim Miller on Tuesday, 13 July 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
