Recent Photo Shoots – A couple of walks in the park…

© jmillerphoto.com - Calico Pennant Dragonfly

A couple of unremarkable photo shoots since I last made a blog entry.  Really, both trips could have been better with additional time and some cooperation from Mother Nature.  But we’ll take what we  can get and be happy with it and move on.

Shoot number one was at Germantown Metropark again.  No thunder, lightning, and liquid sunshine to shorten that visit.  But other tasks that had to be done that day did knock down the time available.  I finally got a Calico Pennant image that I was satisfied with, though I’d still like to go back and try again.  No luck with the Black Saddlebags, though.  I need to research their behavior a little more to help me track down where they’re more likely to land.

I made two images that have gone into the Dragonfly Exhibit pile for a show planned for sometime post graduation, to include this one of the aforementioned Calico Pennant.  I also made a dandy image of a Robber Fly that I may have a purpose for in a future time frame.

Photo shoot number two was a meandering journey in search of light and new places to shoot.  After wandering to Spring Valley Wildlife Area (the boardwalk is still closed…), Glenn Thompson Reserve (neat hike, no dragons), and failing to find Creekside Reserve, I ended up at Siebenthaler Fen where I made a few images once the sun broke through.  Unfortunately, this didn’t occur until close to noon and by then the light was unflattering on most subjects.  I did get a dandy image of a Viceroy butterfly and a few other images that I will develop over the next few weeks and months.  I wish it was a longer visit, but again a bad day shooting is better than a good day doing just about anything else.  Bring on next week 🙂

© jmillerphoto.com - Viceroy Butterfly

Siebenthaler Fen
~ by Jim Miller on Monday, 23 August 2010.

2 Responses to “Recent Photo Shoots – A couple of walks in the park…”

  1. Great shots! These are very nice for a bad day. I understand about the conditions, though. Often they just don’t cooperate.

  2. Again, nice shooting, Jim.

    Bob

Leave a Reply

 
