Recent Photo Shoots: New places and old…

© jmillerphoto.com - Halloween Pennant Dragonfly

It was an interesting and frustrating couple of photo shoots in the last week or so.

It looked like my schedule might facilitate a mid-week photo shoot this past week.  But in each case, as John Lennon once said, “Life is what happens when we’re busy making other plans.”  It was frustrating in that I know the summer is starting to slip away from me, the dragons have all ready started to diminish in numbers in preparation for fall and winter, and I will not get another opportunity to make images up here in the foreseeable future.  But it is what it is.

Photographic friends of mine had mentioned that Twin Creek was another hidden jewel of the Metropark system.  I had been over to Germantown Metropark and enjoyed it a lot, but I was willing to take a chance on the new place.  What a find it was.

Find is perhaps appropriate here.  To get to the main parking area for the park is easy.  Finding the two places I wanted to go, well, not so much.  Rural sprawl has hit the area and I drove by the first pond I wanted to hit not once, not twice, but 5 times.  No worries, though.  I did find what was going to be my second place which is Lake George.  Lake is maybe exaggerating a bit–It is smaller than the Sunfish Pond at Germantown MP and smaller than Dogwood Pond which is the place I kept missing.

Regardless of the size/name congruence, Lake George was an awesome find.  Great luck with both Widow Skimmers and Halloween Pennants.  The Halloween Pennants are not necessarily a “Life List” add for me, but it is a portfolio add.  I saw one weeks ago at Spring Valley but made very poor images of it.

After about an hour of shooting there I moved on to my quest of trying to find Dogwood Pond.  After a couple of missteps I did eventually find it.  Interesting area that I will have to hit again.  Lots of Widow Skimmers here as well.  A good variety of other things I’ve seen other places, but no surprises.  Lots of damselfly reproduction going on–a sign maybe that even the damselflies are making preparations for fall.  A couple of workable images–things you may see in a future blog post.

I thought I might get lucky and get some time in on Sunday, too.  But with finals and final projects coming up, most of the day was shot.  After a study session in the afternoon, I did try to scamper back to Spring Valley Wildlife Area.  The boardwalk is open for a couple of days before it closes again.  I assume it is hunting season related, but regardless with summer slipping away I wanted to take a chance and see what was going on.  As it turns out it was a bust.  Very little action late in the afternoon and no usable shots.

The coming week will be busy.  Final exams, final projects, and the calendar page moves from August to September.  A new print will go in the gallery this coming week.  Stay tuned.

~ by Jim Miller on Monday, 30 August 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
