New Image: American Bullfrog

American Bullfrog (Rana catesbeiana)

©jmillerphoto.com - American Bullfrog

It has been a while since a new image went up, but I think it has been worth the wait. The latest image over in my galleries at jmillerphoto.com is my favorite non-dragonfly image of the summer and is awful close to being my favorite image period of the last three months.

Our good friend the American Bullfrog (Rana catesbeiana) hanging out in a pond with great hopes that his next meal may be on the way.  If you will remember from a few weeks back, this image was made at the conclusion of what was a pretty lengthy and, at the time, unsuccessful hike on a reasonably cool but very humid morning.  All in all it was worth the long hike, even though if I had approached the loop from the other direction it would have been three minutes into the hike instead of 53 minutes into the hike.  But in retrospect, if I had hit the the pond first then chances are the frogs may not have been out.  But I digress…

Normally I do my test prints at 8×10 and I was very pleased at that size.  But given that it was one of my favorites I went ahead and did an 11×14 and it is an incredibly beautiful print.  This one will likely do very well at 16×20.  As always, all of my sale images are over in my galleries on the other side of the website.

~ by Jim Miller on Thursday, 9 September 2010.

2 Responses to “New Image: American Bullfrog”

  1. You re doing well with your dragon-fly and non-dragon fly shots. Well done.

    Bob

    • Thanks, Bob. I have learned a lot this summer in the limited opportunities I have had to get out and I have been very lucky with subject matter, in spite of my whining to the contrary 😉

Leave a Reply

 
