Summer Reflections

© jmillerphoto.com - American Bullfrog

As I sit here on this holiday weekend, still not moving 100% after last weekend’s medical misadventures (yet doing much better, thank you), I thought it was appropriate to look back at the summer shooting season.

In a couple of words:  Satisfying and disappointing

Satisfying because I made a lot of nice images this summer.  In my head I had set a few goals for myself in terms of number of images on the cards and number good images that I’d like hanging on my wall.  I far surpassed both of those.  Ohio’s ponds, rivers, and nature trails were very good to me.  Many thanks to the folks at Dayton’s Metropark system, the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Greene County Parks, and the Beavercreek Wetlands Association for the work that they do to protect nature and make it accessible.

The disappointments were few but significant.  There were places I wanted to get to that I just never managed to hit.  There were places I learned about after the prime time for those locations had passed by.  And on a couple of occasions there were events that I learned of a couple days after they occurred that I would have loved to have known about.  And of course the disappointment that my time here has nearly come to a close and the great places I found while I was here will be 1500 miles in my rear view mirror.  Such is life, I guess.

All in all it was a good summer.  Many good memories.  Many great images.  Many great people met.

~ by Jim Miller on Sunday, 10 October 2010.

2 Responses to “Summer Reflections”

  1. Hi Jim,

    When will you be returning to the great state of Texas and San Angelo?

    Bob

    • Hi Bob –

      The short answer is a period of time for Christmas. And then a period of time again after I graduate, likely somewhere within the month of April. Beyond that and for how long is an open question again. I’ll send you an e-mail…

      -jim

Leave a Reply

 
