So what else have I been up to?

Carolina Chickadee

© jmillerphoto.com - Carolina Chickadee

This blog was on hiatus for a long time.  This is one of three blogs that I write for/manage, with this one very much devoted to the selling of my images and the promoting of my appearances at art shows, arts & crafts fairs, and public exhibitions.

I blogged about my quandry of whether or not to do shows this year back in August.  By mid-September I made the call not to do any shows because I had foot surgery coming in early October.  Well, early October turned into early November with some scheduling difficulties by my surgeon.  As I sit here at the start of December, I know without a doubt that as it turned out not doing shows was the correct decision.  The pain still has not subsided from the procedure and I imagine that trying to do a show now would have been nearly unbearable.

That’s not to say that I stopped shooting.  If you read my Assorted, usually Photographic, Ramblings blog, you will know that I have been doing my best to build up the portfolio again.  A quick look at my Lightroom catalog shows 19 days of shooting since I returned to Texas, though granted a number of those were on my brief trip to Ohio in August.

On the horizon is an increased stream of images coming your way in the next couple of weeks, an exhibition in early spring, and maybe (just maybe) a arts & crafts show appearance in May.  Thank you for staying with me and thank you for staying tuned…

~ by Jim Miller on Sunday, 4 December 2011.

5 Responses to “So what else have I been up to?”

  1. I quit doing art shows, because of the difficulty in setting up and taking down of my exhibit, due to my age. I would like to do one or two again, but it would have to be on a small scale. I have sold my backdrops and trailer. But who knows. I still have my gallery at the Crockett National Bank, so at least people can still see my work other than on-line.

    Great post, Jim.

    • I had heard that you had left the scene, Bob. I agree completely–I am a number of years your junior and the process of loading, unloading, setting up, loading, and putting away a display is far from a trivial matter. I was going to ask what you had done with your trailer and walls–I sold or disposed of much of what I had before my move here. I’ll be buying a commercial set of display walls sometime after the first of the year.

  2. Nowadays you can set up a portfolio on your own web site, at SmugMug, Zazzle, Fine Art America. The Internet world is wonderful!

    • It is a far cry from when I ventured out with my first web site with my fledgling photography back in 1998. I do have my SmugMug presence though I don’t spend as much time as I should and I will probably move to Zenfolio in the fall when it is time to renew my subscription. But there is something different about doing Art/Arts & Crafts Shows. It isn’t looking very likely that I’ll pick up with them this year due to a recent promotion, but maybe next year if the stars are in alignment. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

 
